Bevan Mailman

Managing Principal and Director

Bevan Mailman is a corporate lawyer with a focus on First Nations economic development built on ancient cultures and traditions.

Bevan has a background in commercial transactions, corporate advisory and corporate structuring in the energy and agriculture sectors and works extensively with remote/regional Indigenous communities and organisations in Australia and other jurisdictions both in terms of evaluating the challenges facing communities, and in developing local, national and international strategies and frameworks to move these communities to a place of improved governance, independence, and economic sustainability and growth.

In addition to Jaramer Legal, Bevan is the Co-Chairman of Desert Springs Octopus and works closely with a global leader in drip irrigation technology. These companies are assisting in the origination, development and investment in, new enterprise, infrastructure and community development projects amongst remote Indigenous communities. Bevan is also a Board member of the Indigenous Global Network for Investment Trade and Export and Aboriginal Housing Victoria (managing over ½ billion in social housing real-estate). He is also the Global Indigenous Representative for the North American Australian Lawyers Alliance, a member of RMIT’s College of Business and Law Industry Advisory Board, and is a Director of Agency Projects which is an organisation that promotes Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art, culture and people on a local, national and international scale.

Bevan was formerly a University Lecturer on Public Policy and Law and has studied at the University of Melbourne Business School (MBA), Kellogg School of Management (United States) and Otto Beisheim School of Management (Germany). Bevan is an Alumnus of Norton Rose Fulbright, a former member of National Australia Bank’s Corporate and Finance team, and is a former member of Allens Arthur Robinson (now Allens Linklaters) Mergers and Acquisitions team.

He is the 2021 Indigenous Leader of the Year (Australian Law Awards).

Our board